ESL

Tisha McBride- ESL Coordinator

 
Office-409-923-7514 or mobile-409-658-2601

Elizabeth Sanders- ESL Literacy Interventionist 

Office-409-923-7551

                           

Mission Statement
The ESL department will assist non-native speakers of English in acquiring language proficiency skills that promote social and academic success. 

Vision Statement
The ESL department is committed to educational excellence through student and family engagement, professional collaboration, technology integration and monitoring of the ESL program and student services. 

 
 
 
ESL Online Resources for the Flexible Education Plan for LISD
Company Link Description
ABC Spelling Magic  http://www.preschoolu.com/learning-letter-sounds.html#.XnGXWC2ZP-Y This series of apps includes both phonemic awareness activities and spelling 
Book Creator https://bookcreator.com/ Create e- books to share and read.
Classroom Magazines  https://classroommagazines.scholastic.com/support/learnathome.html Provides curriculum for different grade levels. 
Dot to Dot https://appsinmypocket.com/ This app orally pronounces names of letters and numbers.
Google Keep https://www.google.com/keep/ Users can add pictures and audio to lists and color-code lists or categories.
Learn That  https://www.learnthat.org/pages/view/roots.html#b This is a list of Greek and Latin morphemes, meanings, and sample words and definitions.
Letter Quiz  http://tantrumapps.com Identify and form the letters of the alphabet, match upper- and lowercase forms, and learn the associated sound.
Mystery Science  https://mysteryscience.com/school-closure-planning Science lessons for grade levels k-5
Ports Parks  http://www.ports.parks.ca.gov/ provides virtual (video) field trips
Slingerland https://slingerland.org/Parents/Homework_Helps Provides reading strategies for students, parents, and educators.
Spelling City  https://www.spellingcity.com The teacher or parent can import lists from other users or published programs or create original lists.
Starfall  https://www.starfall.com/h/ Starfall has engaging animations and games for learning letter–sound correspondences. 
Story Online https://www.storylineonline.net/ Read stories and find books for all grade levels.
Story Place https://www.storyplace.org/ Pre-School online books
The Spanish Experiment https://www.thespanishexperiment.com/stories?fbclid=IwAR0kbDuXK1fcCB5oHDcNjlmRuwAZvQ3cAOP-nDrx22D3waFhTzyfMQvTkK8#.XCedvqR2dF4.facebook Well-known children's stories translated. Read along in Spanish or English.
 
free internet offers
Resources
TEL hotlink
 
 
 
ADULT ESL CLASSES
 
  Classes are online only at this time. If you would like to join our Adult ESL class, email
tmcbride@lumberton.k12.tx.us, for information and the login. 
 
ESL families
 
ESL by Night- Tuesdays and Thursdays  
ESL